Past Presidents - Rotary Club of Space Center

lvan E. Brown	Al Jowid	Dick Gregg, Jr.
1964 - 1965	1981 - 1982	1998 - 1999
Ivan E. Brown	Chuck Jacobson	Bill Geissler
1965 - 1966	1982 - 1983	1999 - 2000
Martin Gracey	Bill Webb	David Baldwin
1966 - 1967	1983 - 1984	2000 - 2001
Richard Allen	Charles Hartman	Suzi Howe
1967 - 1968	1984 - 1985	2001 - 2002
Jerry Hammack	Bob Wren	Laura Hale
1968 - 1969	1985 - 1986	2002 - 2003
Roger Hobart	Jim Hargrove	Sheila Self
1969 - 1970	1986 - 1987	2003 - 2004
Orville Lindquist	Jim McNatt	Dr. Vissett Sun
1970 - 1971	1987 - 1988	2004 - 2005
Bob Scott	Billy Weseman	J. B. Fox
1971 - 1972	1988 - 1989	2005 - 2006
Frank Morgan	John Watson	Geoff Atwater
1972 - 1973	1989 - 1990	2006 - 2007
Rex Bailey	Billy Ray Smith	Dick Gregg III
1973 - 1974	1990 - 1991	2007 - 2008
Dick Chandler	Jack Lister	Mike Hernandez, Jr.
1974 - 1975	1991 - 1992	2008 - 2009
Don Kirk	Terry Hesson	Jon McKinnie
1975 - 1976	1992 - 1993	2009 - 2010
Lionel Garcia	Vic Maria	David Coney
1976 - 1977	1993 - 1994	2010 - 2011
Jim Wyatt	Dr. David Taylor	Mike Dennard
1977 - 1978	1994 - 1995	2011 - 2012
Marvin Matthews	Lamar Bowles	Marilyn Musial
1978 - 1979	1995 - 1996	2012 - 2013
Al Ligrani	Bill Lowes, III	Sheryl Berg
1979 - 1980	1996 - 1997	2013 - 2014
Pete Chester	Donnie Johnson	Scott Rainey
1980 - 1981	1997 - 1998	2014 - 2015

This event is generously sponsored by Brookdale Plaza Clear Lake





50th Anniversary Celebration Space Center Houston August 6, 2014

THE FIRST FIFTY

On August 6, 1964, I was three years, ten months, and twenty-nine days old, as it was a leap year. On that Thursday, Beth Maveety of Rotary International notified Ellis R. Bareiss of the sponsoring Rotary Club of La Porte, of her congratulations for success in extending Rotary to this community. With this action, the thirty-five charter members of the Rotary Club of Space Center embarked on a journey paralleling the manned space flight program of NASA. The clubs first President, Ivan Brown, was joined in membership with Astronaut Gordon Cooper and club legend Vince Lipovsky. The Club's only surviving charter member is David Shaw, and many will know the first two members to be initiated into the club were Gene Lindquist and Don Kirk.

Fast forward from the skinny ties and tie dyed era to Wednesday August 6, 2014. I am fifty-three years, ten months, and twenty-eight days old (no leap year this go round). An IBM 360 is a dinosaur replaced by a phone we carry in our pocket. Buck Roger's could only dream of the technological advances the world has accomplished. We are a club of business and community leaders as before, however the diversity of the club is enhanced by the inclusion of women and members of every race and back ground.

Our Club too took small steps, but has also taken huge leaps for mankind. Thirty-five men of vision established the foundation for the club of the 21st Century. Our club has provided fresh drinking water to many in need, we have supported our local youth with scholarships, mentoring, vaccinations, character building, and fun at the Shrimporees. Our members have participated in Rotary International leadership positions and sponsored the Rotary Club of Seabrook.

Our legacy is deep and rich in tradition with a reputation as one of the best clubs in all of Rotary. This notoriety is attributed to the efforts and dedication of the members of the first fifty years. We too, as does the NASA, have a mission to accomplish; that is, to make our humanitarian footprint continue to expand and remain as permanent as that first boot print on the moon.

Scott Rainey

President-Rotary of Space Center

2014-2015

PROGRAM

7:00 - 8:00 PM

Reception

Welcome Prayer Scott Rainey Darryl Smith

Presentation of Colors - Harris County Precinct 8 Honor Guard

Pledge of Allegiance Song - "God Bless America" Recite 4-Way Test	Nancy Anderson Ralph Kramer John Branch	
8:15 - 9:00 PM	Dinner	
Toast	Scott Rainey	
50th Anniversary Video		
Keynote Speaker	Noel Bajat	
Closing Remarks	Scott Rainey	

2014 - 2015 Club Officers & Directors

President - Scott Rainey President Elect - John Branch Secretary - Darryl Smith Treasurer - Ralph Kramer Sergeant at Arms—Nancy Anderson

Directors: Terry Crawford, Carl Stockton, Dennis Paul, Michael Porterfield, David Coney, Kevin Barlow, Michael Cornett, David Taylor, Sheryl Berg, Mark Hollis, Ed Richards