

(Back Row/Left to Right) William Geissler, Lamar Bowles, William Vantine, Floyd Bennet, Jeannie Krueger, Charles Hartman, Victor Maria, Timothy Kropp, Robert Wren

(Front Row/Left to Right) Robert Mitchell. Thom Hemans, Jennifer Wagenknecht, Dick Gregg Jr., Jack Lister - Chairman, Sheila Self, Miguel Hernadez, Patricia Patton

Not Pictured: Pam Adams, Jim Adamson. Susan Bramer, Jeffrey Carr, Clay Fulcher, Rodolfo Gonzalez. Dave Hamlin, Helen Harris, Greg Hayes, Howard Hu, Candace Hunt, Sandy Johnson, Richard Johnston, Ava Lunsford, John Schmidt, Tom Short, James Sweeney

The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation was established in 1985 by the Space Center Rotary Club to oversee the administration of a national awards event to recognize outstanding achievements in space while creating greater public awareness of the benefits of space exploration.

Each year, people who have made preeminent contributions to space exploration are nominated for the National Space Trophy by government and industry leaders, universities, professional organizations and individuals. A ballot is voted on by the Foundation's National Board of Advisors — a group of leaders intimately involved in the space program. The confidential votes of the Advisors are tabulated by an independent accounting firm, and the winner is presented with the National Space Trophy.

Nominations for Stellar Awards for individual and team

achievements are also solicited from NASA, military, university and industry leaders. Nominations are categorized by age groups from early career through late career to ensure recognition of individuals at various levels. Nominations are reviewed by a panel whose decisions are based on which nominees' accomplishments hold the greatest promise for furthering future activities in space.

Additionally, the Foundation selects individuals or groups for recognition via special awards such as this year's Corona Award. The Corona Award recognizes a distinguished lifetime of achievement in the exploration of space. The award is presented only when the Board feels that exceptional merit justifies its presentation.

Recognizing only the brightest of our nation's space explorers, the Corona Award takes its name from the sun. Often referred to as the sun's crown, the corona extends continuously into space, just as the influence of the Corona Award's recipient extends throughout our nation's space community.

The RNASA Foundation is a nonprofit organization chartered to promote the continued exploration of space. Proceeds from this event are donated to organizations involved in aerospace education with past beneficiaries including Space Center Houston and The Challenger Center.