## **EXCELLENCE IN EDUCATION AWARDS**

The Rotary Clubs of Space Center, League City, and Seabrook; and the Clear Creek Independent School District (CCISD) hosted the second Rotary/ CCISD Teacher of The Year Awards on May 25th at the South Shore Harbor Resort and Conference Center. Karen Hearn from Landolt Elementary (Elementary Division) and Erika Bondy from Creekside Intermediate (Intermediate/High School Division) were named Teachers of the Year. The other four finalists were: Maria Scardasis-Wyatt from Goforth Elementary, Kristina Digman from Ward Elementary, Pat Jones from Clear Brook High School, Michael Houston from Clear View Education Center.

Forty-two teachers were nominated, one from each school in the District, for their excellence in education. Six finalists, 3 from the Elementary Division and 3 from the Middle School/High School Division were then selected from the 42 nominees. Finally, one teacher from each division was selected as the Rotary/CCISD Teacher of The Year. The finalists and winners received monetary rewards and plaques. In addition, the winners' names will be engraved on the perpetual plaque displayed in the CCISD administration building. The two winners will go on to compete for Teacher of The Year at the regional and the state level. Over 250 guests were in attendance for the program.

The winning teachers will be guests at Space Center Rotary Club on Monday June 14th. Rotary values the wonderful teachers in the school district and greatly appreciates what they do for the children in our community.

This is the 20th year that Space Center Rotary Club has been involved with the Excellence in Education Awards Program with the schools in the CCISD.

## The Winners and Finalists



From left, President Elect David Coney Club Space Center Rotary, Maria Scardasis–Wyatt (Finalist, Goforth Elementary), Karen Hearn (Elementary Teacher of the Year for 2010, Landolt Elementary), Kristina Digman (Finalist, Ward Elementary), Erika Bondy (Secondary Teacher of the Year 2010, Creekside Intermediate), Pat Jones (Finalist, Clear Brook High School), Michael Houston (Finalist, Clear View Education Center), and Dr. Greg Smith, Superintendent of the Clear Creek Independent School District

## Erika Bondy



From left, Elizabeth Radicioni (Secondary Teacher of the Year 2009, Victory Lakes Intermediate), Erika Bondy (Secondary Teacher of the Year 2010, Creekside Intermediate), and Dr. Greg Smith, Superintendent of the Clear Creek Independent School District



Erika Bondy (Secondary Teacher of the Year 2010, Creekside Intermediate)

## Karen Hearn



From left, Dawn Gibler (Elementary Teacher of the Year for 2009, Greene Elementary), Karen Hearn (Elementary Teacher of the Year for 2010, Landolt Elementary), and Dr. Greg Smith, Superintendent of the Clear Creek Independent School District



Karen Hearn (Elementary Teacher of the Year 2010, Landolt Elementary)