## Awards and Recognitions

**1984-85** Rotary Club of Space Center named one of the Five Best Clubs 1988-89 Rotary Club of Space Center named an Outstanding Club 1989-90 Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Presidential Citation 1991-92 Rotary Club of Space Center named Best Large Club 1995-96 Alan Wylie receives District 5890 Rotarian of the Year from DG Andy Smallwood **1997-98** Rotary Club of Space Center named Club of Year 2002-03 Rotary Club of Space Center named Club of Year 2004-05 Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Presidential Citation 2006-07 Rotary Club of Space Center became a 100% Paul Harris Fellow Club **2006-07** Rotary Club of Space Center received Governor's Cup for outstanding support to District Governor Howe 2006-07 Alan Wylie receives District 5890 Rotarian of the Year from DG Suzie Howe 2007-08 Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Presidential Citation 2008-09 Rotary Club of Space Center named Large Club of the Year 2008-09 Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Presidential Citation 2009-10 Rotary Club of Space Center named Mega Club of Year 2009-10 Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Presidential Citation 2010-11 Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Presidential Citation 2012-13 Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Service Through Peace Presidential Citation 2012-13 Rotary Club of Space Center received District 5890 Peace Award 2012-13 Rotary Club of Space Center received Community Partner of the Year Award presented by Clear Creek Independent School District 1983-84 President William "Bill" Webb selected the District 589 Club President of the Year 1986-87 Bob Wren received the District 589 Governor's Commendation 1987-88 Owen Morris received a 5-star, Paul Harris pin in recognition for his dedication to the Polio Plus campaign for raising \$39,000 and in 2013 a Level 1 Paul Harris Pin 1987-88 Bob Wren received the District 589 Governor's Commendation 1988-89 Dr. David Taylor Received District 589 Service Above Self Award for his work at the District and the Club levels in the International Youth Exchange program 1989-90 Bob Wren received the District 589 Governor's Commendation 1990-91 Billy Weseman named District 589 Rotarian of the Year **1993-94** Dr. David Taylor received The Freedoms Foundation At Valley Forge Award "Dr. Taylor is definitely an idea man, who not only conceives and develops those ideas but is successful in having his rotary club adopt and pursue those programs to their proper conclusion" was the quote from Lucy Eisenhower in regard to The Freedoms Foundation At Valley Forge award to Club member Dr. David Taylor. 1999-00 Sheila Self named Club Rotarian of the Year 2000-01 Sheila Self named Club Rotarian of the Year 2002-03 Alan Wylie receives District 5890 "Service Above Self" Award **2003-04** Lou Gaigher named Rotarian of Month by President Shelia Self

2005-06 Hilmar Zeissig received Rotary International "Service Above Self" Award

**2006-07** Suzie Howe received the Casa de Los Ninos Award for her work with young children in the East End of Houston

**2006-07** Hilmar Zeissig received the Rotary International Service Award, The Rotary Foundation Service

Award for serving 10 years as International Chairman of Rotary District 5890, and The Rotary Foundation "District Service Award"

**2006-07** Pat Doughty received The Rotary Foundation Service Award for her work as counselor for Ambassadorial Scholar, Eun Hye Kong, from South Korea

**2006-07** David Coney received The Rotary Foundation Service Award for their contribution to the Club attaining a 100% Paul Harris Fellows status

**2006-07** Jerrold Dewease received The Rotary Foundation Service Award for their contribution to the Club attaining a 100% Paul Harris Fellows status

2008-09 Jon McKinnie named the District Rotarian of the Year

2008-09 Micki Czarnik named the Club Rotarian of the Year

**2008-09** Suzie Howe received the Dome City Award on behalf of all Houston-area Rotarians after Hurricane Katrina

**2008-09** Jon R. McKinnie Day Proclamation by the City of Houston, Texas "On June 28, 2010, Rotary Club of Space Center will honor Jon. R. McKinnie in recognition of his community spirit, and involvement in local, state, and national civic activities. Jon R. McKinnie's honors include "Outstanding Young Business Leaders to Watch" in America, and "Rotarian of the Year" for Arkansas (2005) and Houston (2009) among many others."

**2009-10** Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Presidential Citation (Interact, Dr. Greg Smith)

**2009-10** Rotary Club of Space Center received Rotary International Presidential Citation (Rotaract, Dr. Ted Cummings)

**2009-10** Stan Galanski received The Rotary International "Service Above Self" Award (Given to only 150 Rotarians worldwide)

2009-10 Stan Galanski named Club Rotarian of Year

**2009-10** February 8, 2010 was proclaimed "Floyd Boze Day" with a Proclamation from Houston City Councilman, Mike Sullivan

**2010-11** President Coney receives "Certificate of Special Recognition" from City of Houston Council Member Mike Sullivan

2010-11 Suzi Howe received The Rotary Foundation "Citation of Meritorious Service Award"

2010-11 Suzi Howe received "Past District Governor of the Year Award"

2010-11 Jon McKinnie received District 5890 "Governor's Award"

2010-11 Alan Wylie received District 5890 "Governor's Award"

**2010-11** Alan Wylie, Dick Meyer, Art Wood - The North American Youth Exchange Network conference awarded District 5890 Rotary Youth Exchange committee the outstanding youth exchange district award for all of North America – United States, Canada, and Mexico.

2011-12 Suzie Howe received The Rotary Foundation's Citation for Meritorious Service

**2012-13** Rotary International Service Through Peace Presidential Citation

**2013-14** Rotary International President Ron Burton selected Alan Wylie to chair the Rotary Int'l Youth Exchange Committee. Plus Alan will set on New Generations Committee as a member.

**2013-14** Suzie Howe received the Disrtict 5890 "Service Above Self" Award

**2013-14** Jorge Hernandez received the Club's "Rotarian of Year" Award